Restrictions will not affect determination of applications from individuals not covered by the visa sanctions

The Donald Trump administration is preparing to bring visa restrictions against four countries refusing to take back their deported citizens from the U.S., the State Department announced Thursday.

They also confirmed that they had received notification from the Department of Homeland Security regarding a visa restriction process.

"When we receive such notification, the law requires a suspension of visa issuance," the State Department told Anadolu Agency. "We follow a standard process to implement a visa suspension as expeditiously as possible in the manner the Secretary (Rex Tillerson) determines most appropriate under the circumstances to achieve the desired goal."

In a response to a question about which countries would be affected, the State Department declined to elaborate, saying internal discussions with, and official notification to affected countries is still in process. 

However, U.S. media claims that Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea and Sierra Leone are the countries, which will soon be subject to sanctions. However, it would only target government officials and their families, not all visas.

The State Department confirmed the claim, saying that visa restrictions would not affect other consular services provided, including the determination of applications from individuals not covered by the restriction.

It added that information would be available about the terms of the visa suspension, when the process is completed, but didn't clarify when.